Home / Healthy Eating / Foods you never knew were vegan

Foods you never knew were vegan


Vegan: It’s a word you’re likely hearing (and seeing) more and more these days. But what does the term really mean, and what exactly constitutes a vegan diet? The answers may surprise you.

PETA describes a vegan, also known as a strict vegetarian, as someone who “does not consume meat, dairy products, eggs, honey, or any product derived from an animal. Many refuse to use products that are made with animal ingredients, products that are filtered using animal parts (such as some wines, beers, and white sugars), and products that have been tested on animals.”

Most people associate veganism with a super healthy diet — one that involves eliminating all animal products and by-products, and loading up on fresh fruits and veggies, plenty of greens, and whole grains.

Although this is all true, many processed foods that are often thought of as being “unhealthy” are, in fact, vegan. As it turns out, even the freshest, strictest vegan diet can include cheat days featuring universally loved snacks, ranging from Oreos to Doritos Spicy Sweet Chili chips.

Keep reading to discover 11 foods that you never knew were vegan. (Psst, many are likely in your cupboard or pantry right now!)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *